UK-India Opportunities in Aerospace & Defence and Energy

|

The UK India Business Council (UKIBC) and TWI are delighted to invite you to an interactive session on the significant opportunities in aerospace & defence and energy which are emerging through the reinvigorated UK-India strategic partnership.

Date: Wednesday, 26 May
Time: 09:30 – 11:00 (BST) / 14:00 – 15:30 (IST)

09:30 (BST) / 14:00 (IST) – Introduction Session
10:00 (BST) / 14:30 (IST) – Parallel breakout sessions: Aerospace and Defence Opportunities in India or Low Carbon Energy Opportunities in India

REGISTER HERE
*By registering for the event, you submit your information to the webinar organizer, who may use it to communicate with you in line with its published privacy policy adhering to prevailing data protection guidelines.

The workshop will consider India’s manufacturing supply and value chain focussing on the opportunities, challenges and India’s role in a global context. We shall consider the macro G2G strategic representative and enabling activities of UKIBC, alongside the relevant technology and training experience from TWI, which has supported its customers in India since 1990. Presentations from both organisations, followed by sector specific breakout sessions, will explore options for Members in both countries to contribute and potentially benefit going forward.

To secure your place on this workshop – and to select which of the two breakout sessions you would like to join – please register here.

FURTHER INFORMATION

India is the World’s largest democracy, 6th largest manufacturer and 5th largest economy by nominal GDP. Pre-Covid annual growth rates were regularly in the range of 5% – 7% and are expected to recover later in 2021.

Mutually beneficial ties between India and UK are strong and enduring, both economically and culturally. For example, in 2019 India was the second largest source of inward investment to the UK after the USA. The UK reciprocates as the World’s 6th largest investor into India with almost 600 British companies directly employing around 450,000 people there.

India has ambitious goals in the next decade for its defence and energy sectors.

The Indian Government-led “Make in India” initiative included a specific commitment to reduce India’s current position as the World’s second largest importer of defence equipment, by manufacturing more “in-country”.

India has also pledged to reduce its carbon footprint by 35%, from 2005 levels, by 2030. This is a challenging target given the fast developing economy and social aspirations, but includes investment in green energy, electric vehicles, mass transport innovations and smart cities.

The above represents a broad and expanding landscape in which the UK and India can bring collaborative excellence to bear in industry, academia, and other shared strengths.

 


Get a free consultation with one of our India Advisers